What is Project 802 and IEEE?

By: Daniel Imbellino
Updated: Feb 24, 2013

Project 802 is a set of networking standards and procedures for implementing networks, and creating network related equipment. As long as manufacturers of networking equipment follow the same standards, then interoperability and compatibility across multiple platforms and network systems will remain high. The IEEE (institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) designed Project 802 and it became a standard in 1983. 802 actually stands for the date of Project 802’s inception, which was February of 1980, hence 802. The project mostly covers physical media aspects of networking, such as cabling, attachments, hardware recommendations, and some logical networking aspects as well.

A list of the 802 Networking Standards and uses:

802.1: Internetworking. Covers routers, bridging, switches, and other internetworking communications standards and equipment.

802.2: Logical Link Control. Covers the properties and standards of physical media interoperability, such as with network interface cards, attachment and cabling media.

802.3: Ethernet: Covers standards and specifications of implementing Ethernet networks.

802.4: Token Bus LAN: Covers forms of physical media that work with the Token Bus Networking topology.

802.5: Token Ring LAN: Covers forms of physical media that work with the Token Ring Topology

802.6: Metropolitan Area Networks: Covers the procedures and implementation procedures for managing large networks.

802.7: Broadband Technical Advisory Group: Covers broadband networking media concepts and procedures.

802.8: Fiber Optic Technical Advisory Group: Covers the standards and procedures for Digital Optical networking.

802.9: Integrated Voice and Data Networks: Covers the procedures for integrating voice and data over networks.

902.10: Network Security: Covers the standards and procedures for securing networks logically (software level), and physically (Hardware level). Includes information concerning encryption standards for both wired and wireless networking models. Also, covers procedures for authentication and software implementation of security practices across networking media.

802.11: Wireless Networking: Covers the procedures, specifications, and implementation of wireless networks. (More info on 802.11 radio frequency specifications under our wireless networking tutorials).

802.12: High Speed Networking: Covers the planning and implementation of high data rate networking technologies (such as Gigabit Ethernet).

802.13: Not Currently In Use.

802.14: Defunct Working Group: Covers specifications for implementing data transmissions of cable television networks.

802.15: Wireless Personal Area Networks: Covers the standards for short range wireless networking, such as used with blue tooth devices.

802.16: Wireless Metropolitan Area Networks: Covers the planning, implementation, and procedures for managing large city wide wireless networks. These have become quite common in Nevada, Oregon, and California. San Francisco has WIMAX wireless networking coverage.

802.17: Resilient Packet Ring: Covers emerging standards for Ring topology based networking.

802.18: Wireless Advisory Group: Consists of wireless technical advisory group that monitors the standards of radio based communications.

802.19: Coexistance Advisory Group: creates standards and procedures for developing hardware and software based networking technology that implies backward compatibility with older networking equipment and standards. Also works to implement new networking technology compatibility between major hardware resources.

802.20: Mobile Broadband Wireless: Implements specifications, plans, and procedures for managing 4th generation wireless networks. This includes, smart phones, mobile broadband wireless devices, etc.